Skip to content

truths on becoming conscious..

November 6, 2013

choice

There is nothing easy about becoming conscious. My own life was much easier before I knew about the deeper meaning of choice, the power of choice that accompanies taking responsibility. Abdicating responsibility to an outside source can seem, at least for the moment, so much easier. Once you know better, however, you can’t get away with kidding yourself for long.

My heart goes out to people who are working hard to release their negative attitudes and painful memories. “Just tell me how, and I’ll do it,” they say to me. We are forever looking for the easy meditation, the easy exercise, that will lift us out of the fog, but consciousness doesn’t work that way. Ironically, there is a simple way out, only it’s not easy: Just let go. Let go of how you thought your life should be, and embrace the life that is trying to work its way into your consciousness.

Caroline Myss

Comments are closed.