Skip to content

Full of yoga.

October 21, 2010

I had intended it to last for 14 days….only made it to 6.

Last week I heard a reminder that I need not always show yogis everything about yoga in a yoga class. I may not need to offer the wise words captured on paper in texts such as: The Bhagavadgita, Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras and the Hatha Yoga Pradipika. As unnatural as it was, I detached myself from these personal inspirations to uncover the questions “Although I am fed to the brim by these works do I need to shove it down my students 7th Chakras? Is vinyasa enough?”

Impossible as it seems to embrace a subject like this, relying on mere speculation for the answers, I dove into a world of emptiness for 6 days. I did not read and I did not share with others.

I understand and believe that I am here to serve yogis. It is my duty to watch people, their bodies, their reactions to sequences and advanced postures. They need to embark upon their own spiritual journeys, a path that I cannot control.

However, teaching is a form of yoga for myself also. Selfish as it may be, I work through my own crap and confusions while teaching and learn from students as through my own reactions to what I teach. Teaching lifts me up. Every single time.

all things full..

At the same rate, knowing that we practice asana for something higher than an advanced pose lifts me up. And I am confident that others will sense this knowledge some day soon. And as a servant to students, it is my duty to teach what I love, to teach from my full full heart. And my heart is full of the Bhagavadgita, Anatomy of the Spirit, Rumi, and any other obscure garage sale yoga book I can get my hands on. And I want YOU to hear all about what I uncover and underline in my treasured books.

 

I got bored after 6 days of only saying “set an intention for your practice”.

A wise monk said “Empty your cup so you can become full again with the truth”. I aspire to do this through teaching so I can be filled up time and time again with new bits and sparks of light. And these are things I will share with you.

Besides, if I am quiet and bored as a teacher, you will not learn from me, you will only see a tiny sliver of me. And it is my work to be here, wholly, fully and completely to share what I know. I know that you deserve to expand and become full. And then get empty again for more.

The vinyasa is simply a lovely little bonus. The truth is allowing pure ideas and ancient wisdoms to settle into every single moment, every movement, every word and interaction. Completely.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

